A free SpecWindow project list. Records checked Oct 26, 2026; they can change after that date.
Michigan data center projects in government records, 2026
3 data center projects found in Michigan Public Service Commission and township records (Van Buren, Lowell and Saline townships) dated April 26 to October 26, 2026. None of the records we opened gives a backup generator count; 2 name substations and 1 states battery storage megawatts. Every project links to its government record.
EGLE's MiEnviro permit portal, where Michigan air and water permit notices are posted, blocks automated reading, and several township sites (Lyon, Frenchtown, Lowell's meeting portal) also refused access, so permit notices and other proposals are missing; this is a sample, not a complete list.
Project Cannoli, Google data center campus off Haggerty Road
Van Buren Township, Wayne County, Michigan
- Record
- Michigan Public Service Commission news release on its order approving DTE Electric special contracts with Google LLC for a data center in Van Buren Township, case U-22058, Oct 1, 2026. michigan.gov
- Applicant as named
- Google LLC (customer) and DTE Electric Co. in the MPSC record; Panattoni presented the campus and DTE Electric with ITC applied for the substation in the township Planning Commission minutes.
- Stage
- Zoning approved. The MPSC approved the power supply contracts on Oct 1, 2026, with service expected to begin in December 2027; the township Planning Commission approved the final site plan 5 to 1, reported by Michigan Public on Oct 15, 2026.
- Equipment stated
- Proposed in the township record (May 13, 2026 Planning Commission minutes, preliminary site plan case for the substation): a DTE/ITC substation with steel poles 100 to 150 feet tall and two underground 345 kV feeds; the developer said power conditioning units contain lithium ion batteries and cooling tower equipment will use quiet fans; the developer described reducing the generator count by 85% for life safety and freeze protection, count and rating not stated. Approved in the MPSC contracts: DTE to develop up to 1,600 MW of renewable energy and 480 MW of battery energy storage paid for by Google; sites not stated.
Covenant Business Park data center proposal, I-96 and Alden Nash Avenue SE (237 acres)
Lowell Charter Township, Kent County, Michigan
- Record
- Township Covenant Business Park project page, updated after the May 18, 2026 Township Board meeting (no printed date); it names the Microsoft data center proposal and says Microsoft was expected to introduce the project at the Jun 8, 2026 Planning Commission meeting. lowelltwp.org
- Applicant as named
- Franklin Partners (rezoning applicant named on the township page); Microsoft named as the prospective tenant interested in building a data center at the site.
- Stage
- Early land or zoning. The township page says the Franklin Partners rezoning application was put on hold at the applicant's request on Dec 18, 2025, and that Microsoft's proposal includes a rezoning and a text amendment that must go to the Planning Commission and Township Board. On May 18, 2026 the Township Board voted 5 to 2 against a general six month data center moratorium (the page says this does not mean the project is approved) and formed an advisory committee on a data center ordinance.
- Equipment stated
- None stated in the records we opened.
Saline Township data center project, Related Digital for Oracle and OpenAI
Saline Township, Washtenaw County, Michigan
- Record
- Township Advisory Committee on the data center project, meeting summaries page, May 13, 2026 entry (the page has entries from Dec 10, 2025 to Jul 10, 2026). salinetownship.org
- Applicant as named
- Related, as named on the township page; Related Digital developing for Oracle and OpenAI, reported by Michigan Public.
- Stage
- Under construction. The township page says foundation permits for the Operations and Warehouse buildings had been issued by Apr 29, 2026 and water main construction had started by May 13, 2026. Reported: on Jul 14, 2026 the Township Board voted 5 to 0 to approve an Industrial Facilities Exemption Certificate application at 4.8 billion with a clawback provision (special meeting minutes, which do not name the project or applicant); Michigan Public reported it as the data center tax break.
- Equipment stated
- Generators: the township page's Jan 21, 2026 entry says EGLE has issued permits to install generators, count and rating not stated; on May 13, 2026 final generator sizing was under EGLE review, and on Jun 10, 2026 Related had provided updated generator information. Substation: construction anticipated in mid June 2026 per the May 13 entry, with substation equipment delivery delayed as of Jun 10, 2026.
Want a current report for Michigan or another state? A State Project Scan is a PDF report and Excel spreadsheet of the data center projects found in one state's government records from the last six months, with equipment reported as the underlying record states it: applicant as named, location, stage, next public dates, the buying window and a suggested next research step. Every row links to its government record.
Order a state report, $490See a sample (PDF)One time, no subscription, delivered by email within 5 business days. Questions? Email [email protected].